I stand corrected: it is legal to use msn chat control

Chuck

From what i'm aware (and the way i see it) is that it's a limitation based on the last modification and copyright handle on the ocx, or as the website put it "statute of limitations starts from the date of the last infringing act".

I believe they still made upgrades to the OCX in 2006. This being the case, they would not be allowed to use the OCX till 2009. So don't go and say, it's legal just because the original version game out 3+ years ago. Because it's from time of last publication. They continuely modified the OCX, even though it was mandatory to download, they continually upgraded it.

I'm only a high school graduate, but I believe that the context should be taken as a whole, not just the words you like.

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

From what i'm aware (and the way i see it) is that it's a limitation based on the last modification and copyright handle on the ocx, or as the website put it "statute of limitations starts from the date of the last infringing act".

I believe they still made upgrades to the OCX in 2006. This being the case, they would not be allowed to use the OCX till 2009. So don't go and say, it's legal just because the original version game out 3+ years ago. Because it's from time of last publication. They continuely modified the OCX, even though it was mandatory to download, they continually upgraded it.

I'm only a high school graduate, but I believe that the context should be taken as a whole, not just the words you like.

All the articles I've come across doesn't mention renewals with version changes at all. Each public version starts with its own copyright, so logically that would apply to copyright statute of limitations too. However, in the end it depends on the court(s). The details are very complex, following links would give better understanding: